Shower her with gifts… meaningful gifts.

The wedding season is in full effect. You can always tell when the shower invites begin to roll in. My bridal shower was two weekends ago and I am still reeling with excitement and love. I cannot believe how many people came to shower me with love… and gifts! Wow. I do have to say, it was quite overwhelming. I received my Kitchen Aid Mixer and Keurig coffee maker – the two items I told Joey I was going to buy regardless of whether I received them at the shower or not. I thought I had everything at that point. I opened a steam mop from my mom, lingerie from my aunt and more kitchen towels than I will need for at least the next 5 years of our marriage. Then I got to this one large bag. As I opened it and pulled out a quilt, my aunt called out that it was from my dad. See, he had been talking about this one gift that he had been saving for me for a long time. He said it was a gift from my mom, him and my great-grandmother. She went on to explain that a quilt was made by my great-grandmother for each of her grandchildren on their wedding day. This was the one that was made for my mom and dad. I have to say this was probably one of the most meaningful gifts I received that day. Knowing it was something passed down from my family and now it is mine to pass along to my children. From the picture, you can tell I was completely speechless and just in awe.

Then, this past weekend, I was at a shower for a friend who received a handkerchief. It was from her mother and attached was a poem.

The Magic Hanky
I am just a little hanky, as square as can be;
but with a stitch or two, they’ve made a bonnet out of me.
I’ll be worn home from the hospital, and on special days,
and then I’ll be carefully pressed and neatly packed away.
Then on the Wedding, I have been told,
every well dressed Bride must have something old.
So what would be more fitting than to find Little Old Me,
a few stitches snipped and a Wedding Handkerchief
I Will Be!
And if per chance, it is a boy, someday he still will Wed.
So to his Bride he can present
the “Magic Handkerchief” once worn upon his head.

I immediately had to maintain eye contact with my fork so I didn’t start to cry. Maybe I am just emotional and feeling a little sentimental as my wedding day approaches, but I couldn’t stop thinking the absolutely adorable poem and meaning behind the hanky. I found a website where you can purchase the “Magic Hanky.”

Stay tuned for a few more meaningful shower gift ideas!!

One Response

  1. awwwwwwwwwwww I just “re” cried reading that. Glad I wasn’t the only one!!! Loved the Post!!

Leave a comment